Nordic Countries Agreement

diciembre 13, 2020 Agustin

The agreement also recognizes applicants with certificates, graduates or other proof of formal qualifications. They can apply for the same type of school in their home country as in the country where they have completed their second cycle of secondary education. The partially completed training is also the subject of the agreement. This protocol was implemented by the individual but simultaneous decisions of the four governments. It abolished the need for citizens of the four countries to carry a passport when travelling to the other three countries, provided the trip was so short that a residence permit was not required. The Nordic countries have adopted different solutions for the political and economic integration of Europe. Prior to 2001, routes between Denmark and other Nordic countries were subject to full customs checks for ferry travel. Prior to the opening of the Eresund Bridge, there was no land border with Denmark until July 2000, which had relaxed customs control from the outset. Northern citizens did not need to have a passport. [Citation required] Other citizens needed a passport. As part of the customs check, at least upon arrival from Denmark and the non-Nordic countries, each motorist was asked where he had stayed.

For travel to Denmark and between Sweden, Norway and Finland, customs checks and passports were much more relaxed and often no control. [Citation required] Air traffic was subject to full passport and customs control, although oral application for Nordic nationality with Scandinavian language, as well as internal flight tickets or Nordic identity documentation were generally sufficient to ensure passport control. In some cases, Nordic citizens without passports are not allowed to pass until a thorough identity investigation has been conducted. As a general rule, passengers using public transport such as trains or planes have not been interviewed by customs. [Citation required] The Nordic Council and the Council of Ministers are headquartered in Copenhagen, various institutions in each country, as well as numerous offices in neighbouring countries. The headquarters is located at Ved Beach No. 18, close to Slotsholmen. The Nordic Council and the Nordic Council of Ministers place particular emphasis on strengthening the northern language community; Their work to promote linguistic understanding in the Nordic countries focuses on the understanding of Danish and oral, Norwegian and Swedish, the three understandable Scandinavian languages. [23] The Nordic Council uses the three continental Scandinavian languages (Danish, Norwegian and Swedish) as official working languages, while interpretation and translation services are established for Finnish and Icelandic (but never between Scandinavian languages). [2] The Commission also publishes documents in English for informational purposes. The Council refers to Danish, Norwegian and Swedish together as Scandinavian and considers them to be different forms of the same language forming a common linguistic community.

[19] Since 1987, citizens of the Nordic countries have had the opportunity, under the Nordic Language Convention, to use their mother tongue when interacting with official bodies in other Nordic countries without having to bear the cost of interpretation or translation. The convention covers visits to hospitals, employment centres, police and social services. The languages are Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian and Swedish. [20] In June 2018, a new service was set up to allow academics from the Nordic countries to download a document confirming that their diploma is automatically recognised in Norway.